Arizona and The Extreme DUI
There are long-term and maybe even lifelong consequence of getting convicted for a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) and especially for Extreme DUI. The state of Arizona has some of the harshest sentences for these crimes. For a first-time conviction of Extreme DUI, one faces fines, mandatory jail time, license suspension and the mandated use of an ignition interlock device. Moreover, the court, at its discretion, may impose additional penalties.
Extreme DUI conviction are as follows:
1) A fine of at least $2,500;
2) mandatory jail time of up to forty-five (45) days;
3) Loss of driving privileges by means of a license suspension for a minimum of ninety (90) days; and
4) The required use of an ignition interlock device for a minimum of one year.
Understanding the harsh consequences that one may face if convicted of a DUI is not as straightforward as it may seem, and seeking the assistance of experienced attorneys can help you understand the consequences and your options when facing any type of DUI charge.
What is an Extreme DUI and How is it Distinguished from a Regular DUI?
A regular DUI in Arizona is one in which a party has a blood alcohol content (or “BAC”) of less than 0.15%. An Extreme DUI in Arizona, though, is one in which a party has a blood alcohol content of 0.15% or greater. Under Arizona law, there is also a charge known as “Super Extreme DUI,” in which the blood alcohol content levels must be 0.20% or greater. Currently, in all 50 states, the legal blood alcohol content limit is .08%.
Beyond the BAC levels, Regular DUI, Extreme DUI, and Super Extreme DUI have varying penalties as well. A Super Extreme DUI can result in a fine of $2,750, required attendance at weeks of alcohol classes, a minimum of 18 months of required use of an ignition interlock device, and a requirement to not consume alcohol for a certain period of time in addition to alcohol monitoring. Furthermore, the jail term for a Super Extreme Dui is a minimum of forty-five (45) days, and this applies to first-time offenders, making it one of the most punitive measures for first-time offenders in the United States.
How Do I Defend a DUI, Extreme DUI or Super Extreme DUI Charge?
Seek the assistance of one of the criminal defense attorneys at the Barber Law Group, PLLC, located in Phoenix, Arizona to try and have the DUI, Extreme DUI or Super Extreme DUI charges against you dismissed. Our attorneys can provide you with aggressive representation and utilize persuasive defense strategies in order to help increase the chances of having your DUI, Extreme DUI or Super Extreme DUI dismissed or reduced. Contact the Barber Law Group, PLLC today, at 602-500-2261 your free initial consultation.